Skip navigation

After hours of research and finding that no one else had experienced this issue, at least my form of this problem, I finally found a post somewhere. I had created a page with a single button on it and was able to click and the page would postback successfully. All is good. I had a number of textboxes on the page that were required and some that needed additional validation as well. So I threw on my RequiredFieldValidators and RegularExpressionValidators, the validators worked correct, messaging appearing correctly when data not present and disappearing when data was valid. When I clicked the submit button NOTHING happened. So I removed all of the validators and the page worked again, added one validator and posting was not possible again. The issue is that I had placed a script reference with a self closing tag. So something like this <script type=”text/javascript” src=”/js/somefile.js”/>, for whatever reason that only God can explain, this upsets the Page_ClientValidate function. Conclusion, throw out XHTML when including script files and make sure you have a closing tag <script type=”text/javascript” src=”/js/somefile.js”></script>.

Thank you again Microsoft

Leave a Reply

