Skip navigation

For those of you who may not know, RIM (Research In Motion), the makers of BlackBerry devices have an IDE for developing applications for BlackBerrys. The IDE, called BlackBerry JDE, uses native Java along with other libraries to create the applications.

The IDE is free to download and use. It comes with a simulator for testing applications on a device. The simulator is a fully functioning BlackBerry that has access to email and the internet (by installing the MDS plug-in).

I recently spent a couple days writing my own app for my BlackBerry. I tested it on the simulator and everything was working great. I generated the alx file that allows you to use the Desktop Manager to load the application on to a real BlackBerry. I loaded it on my BlackBerry and tried to run it. I got this message, “Module must be signed with the RIM Runtime Code Signing Key (RRT).”

If you’re like me, you’d be saying, “RRT? Well what the hell is that?”

In order for an application built with the BlackBerry JDE, you must fill out an application form and send it to RIM, along with 20 bucks!!! They will then email you your key for your application. This can take up to 10 business days. This is to ensure security across applications that are used on BlackBerrys.

You don’t have to send them any code or any sort of description about the application, so I fail to see how this could ensure security. The only thing I see this doing is causing developers who want to improve their productivity/fun while using their device, to have to shell out money in order to do so. It is pretty much like paying for the software you wrote. Instead of RIM paying developers to write applications to improve the functionality of the device, they make developers pay them.

I am not impressed.

I payed the $20 for the key and now I see that they have charged my credit card for the $20 as well as an additional $30. They better hope that $30 doesn’t actually post to my account.

This really makes Android sound like the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

